Turkey and Bacon Pot Pie

26 Nov

I saw a more impressive version of this recipe on an episode of Giada at Home. She made a turkey and pancetta pot pie with Thanksgiving leftovers. I decided to do something similar and it was delicious. Of course, feel free to use your favorite ingredients to make this dish your own. The crust didn’t come out too pretty so I think if I were entertaining I would use puff pastry or a store-bought crust.

I promise it’s WAY better than it looks.

Ingredients:

  • Crust for a double-crust pie
  • 1 cup sauteed mushroom and onions (I had some left over from my Mini Beef Wellingtons)
  • 1/2 cup gravy
  • 1/2 cup white wine
  • 1 cup turkey, chopped
  • 2 celery stalks, chopped
  • 1 carrot, chopped
  • 1 cup frozen corn, thawed
  • 2 strips bacon, cooked and crumbled (Again, this was left over from my Bacon Ranch Deviled Eggs)

In a large skillet warm the mushrooms and onions. Add the gravy and wine and cook until heated through. Add remaining ingredients. I like my celery and carrots to have a little bite so I didn’t cook them long at all.

Line a 9-in. pie pan with half of the crust. Fill with turkey mixture. Top with the other half of the crust. Cut a few slits for ventilation and bake at 375˚ for 40 minutes, or until crust is browned. Let cool about 10 minutes, then enjoy!

Leave a comment